Comparison
LayerCall vs SEON
Both answer questions about whether a signup is real. SEON is a fraud prevention and AML platform; LayerCall returns IP, email, phone, domain and device from one request. Which is the better buy depends on how many of those you need to ask about.
What each one is
A fraud-prevention platform built around digital-footprint enrichment — taking an email or phone and reporting where it appears online — combined with device intelligence, a rules engine, case management and AML compliance, sold with an implementation team.
Their current pricing →One request returns IP, email, phone, domain and device together, on one key and one quota — because the signal that catches a fake signup is usually the relationship between them, and that relationship does not exist inside any single check.
Our pricing →We never quote SEON’s prices. Where the table below states a fact about them, it is read from their own public page, linked beside the claim with the date we read it, and dropped if it goes sixty days unchecked. Their pricing is linked above and is always current.
About SEON’s side of this page: we describe what kind of product it is, and where we state a fact about it we quote their own public page, link to it, and show the date we read it — and we never quote their prices, which change without notice. Where their pages do not say, we say that rather than guess. Anything current comes from them: SEON’s own pricing page. Product names and trademarks belong to their owners; LayerCall is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or partnered with SEON.
Point by point
Every row is a point we set out to meet. Ours is checkable on this site; theirs is read from SEON’s own public pages, each claim linked to the page it came from and dated. A dash means their pages do not say — which is not a no.
| Point | LayerCall | SEON | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Identifiers scored in one request | Yes | IP, email, phone, domain and device — one call, one key, one quota. | No | IP, email, phone and device, by category (fraud prevention and AML platform). Not domain. |
| A free tier that needs no card | Yes | 1,000 lookups a month, every endpoint, no card, no daily cap. At the limit it stops rather than billing. | Yes | A free, no-card-required trial of full functionality; the number of trial API calls is not stated. their page → Checked 3 Sept 2026. |
| Device fingerprinting on every plan | Yes | Included on every plan, the free one too. | Not stated | Device intelligence analyses signals to surface emulators, hidden proxies and remote access; plan gating is not stated. their page → Checked 3 Sept 2026. |
| The signals come back with the score | Yes | The signals behind it, and an allow / review / block verdict you tune with strictness. A number alone is unappealable. | Yes | Response returns fraud_score with applied_rules, state and suspicious_flags; rule evaluations are included. No strictness request parameter is documented. their page → Checked 3 Sept 2026. |
| A test mode that never bills | Yes | Synthetic data, labelled as such in every response, never billed, never written to the shared network. How it works | No | A Sandbox environment exists with separate database, rules and settings; sandbox calls count toward the API call limit. Whether data is synthetic is not stated. their page → Checked 3 Sept 2026. |
| Repeat lookups are not charged | Yes | Cached repeat lookups are free, every response carries billable_lookups, and you set your own spend cap. | Not stated | Starter is 2,500 fraud checks/month; Premium has unlimited API calls. No statement found on repeat-lookup pricing, spend caps, or cost in a response. their page → Checked 3 Sept 2026. |
| Accuracy published with sample size and method | Yes | Published with the sample size, the method and the corpus. The figures | Not stated | Not stated on their public pages. Checked 3 Sept 2026. |
| Verifies an AI agent's signature | Yes | Verifies an agent’s Web Bot Auth signature and decides what a verified agent may do. Agent endpoints | No | Flags AI agents in suspicious_flags (potential_ai_agent, openai_agent, devin_agent); this is detection, not signature verification. their page → Checked 3 Sept 2026. |
When SEON is the better buy
You need the social-footprint lookup itself, or you need AML compliance and case management in the same product. Their enrichment queries consumer sites directly to see where an address is registered; ours deliberately stops at public and licensed sources, so on that specific signal they return more than we do and we are not pretending otherwise. Theirs is also a sales-led platform purchase with people assigned to your integration, which is a different thing to buy than a key and an endpoint.
Weighing more than one option? Every SEON alternative we know of, ranked — including the ones that are a closer swap than we are.